• 14 October, 1999Counting since:
  • 1124373Total site visitors:
  • 112Visitors today:
  • 0Visitors currently online:
  • 3217Visitors to this post:

 

Dare

EDIT I have made this a “Sticky” post in that I think it is a little too important to fall off the bottom of the blog. I’ll probably change that later, but for now, this is going to stay at the top of the list. June 28, 2005

I was just complaining over in my LiveJournal that I wish I could get time off to write full time. Others have encouraged me to do so as well, and I’ve been told that the model that Randy Millholand used (the dare to his readers) may work for me too.

So, here’s the deal:

I will quit my job and write full time if you, my readers, can match my current sallary of $35,000 per year. For this, the first book that hits the stands will have a list of those contributing in the dedication.

I want to write full time. I enjoy writing full time. Give me the means to live while I’m writing full time and I’ll do it.

One Response to “Dare”

  1. Juliaki says:

    For a brief while, I made my income solely on writing. Made a good living at it, too. The problem was that I had to write on topics that paid and not topics that I cared about. Now I’m quite happy making moolah as an editor and writing only what I want to write about. Yes, it does mean I don’t have as much time to write as I’d like, but it beats the alternative!

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

User Login


Upcoming Holidays & Events

  • Mon, Apr 19
    • Sigrblot
  • Thu, Apr 22
    • Lyrids Meteor Shower
  • Fri, Apr 23
    • Sigurd`s Day
  • Fri, Apr 30
    • Walburg
  • Sat, May 1
    • May Day
    • Beltane ~ Greater Sabbat, Cross-Quarter Day, Fire Festival
    • Beltane ~ Greater Sabbat, Cross-Quarter Day, Fire Festival
  • Wed, May 5
    • Cinco de Mayo
  • Thu, May 6
    • Eta Aquarids Meteor Shower
  • Sun, May 9
    • Mother's Day
    • Guthroth`s Day, May 9
  • Wed, May 12
    • End of Willow Celtic tree month
  • Thu, May 13
    • Start of Hawthorn Celtic tree month
  • Mon, May 17
    • Tax Day
  • Wed, May 26
    • Einherjar Day USA
  • Thu, May 27
    • Frigga Blot

Subscribe to the Journal

Enter your email address to subscribe to Erin's Journal and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Current Moon Phase


Waxing Crescent Moon
Waxing Crescent Moon

The moon is currently in Gemini
The moon is 5 days old
Joe's