• 14 October, 1999Counting since:
  • 1124437Total site visitors:
  • 37Visitors today:
  • 0Visitors currently online:
  • 356Visitors to this post:
Home Witch Why?

 

Why?

Here’s something that I have wondered for a while now.

You have the eight sabbats, right? Okay, they are evenly spaced through the year. You have four lesser Sabbats on Midsummer, Midwinter, Spring Equinox and Autumnal Equinox. You have the four greater Sabbats on Beltane, Lughsnadah, Samhain, Imbolc. Right?

There are solar events for the Lesser Sabbats. What’s the basis for the positioning of the Greater Sabbats? I know that the Druids had their fire festivals on those days, but how did they decide THIS day and no other? Is there a solar event that occurs on those days? If so what is it?

And if the Lesser Sabbats have solar events to occur on those days, why aren’t they the Greater Sabbats? Why “lesser”?

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

User Login


Upcoming Holidays & Events

  • Mon, Apr 19
    • Sigrblot
  • Thu, Apr 22
    • Lyrids Meteor Shower
  • Fri, Apr 23
    • Sigurd`s Day
  • Fri, Apr 30
    • Walburg
  • Sat, May 1
    • May Day
    • Beltane ~ Greater Sabbat, Cross-Quarter Day, Fire Festival
    • Beltane ~ Greater Sabbat, Cross-Quarter Day, Fire Festival
  • Wed, May 5
    • Cinco de Mayo
  • Thu, May 6
    • Eta Aquarids Meteor Shower
  • Sun, May 9
    • Mother's Day
    • Guthroth`s Day, May 9
  • Wed, May 12
    • End of Willow Celtic tree month
  • Thu, May 13
    • Start of Hawthorn Celtic tree month
  • Mon, May 17
    • Tax Day
  • Wed, May 26
    • Einherjar Day USA
  • Thu, May 27
    • Frigga Blot

Subscribe to the Journal

Enter your email address to subscribe to Erin's Journal and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Current Moon Phase


First Quarter Moon
First Quarter Moon

The moon is currently in Cancer
The moon is 6 days old
Joe's