• 14 October, 1999Counting since:
  • 1124374Total site visitors:
  • 113Visitors today:
  • 0Visitors currently online:
  • 823Visitors to this post:
Home Rituals, The Tree Patrick’s Rune

 

Patrick’s Rune

(Note from Daven: This is a poem I found in the book mentioned below. When I first read it, I was moved by the power of this poem and I tried to memorize it, without success. I have since copied it here, and I still think it’s very powerful.

The blank in the first line is so that the person chanting it can “customize” it to their situation. Like naming a name of someone you are with, or the place you are in, or what have you.)

Patrick’s Rune

_______________ in this fateful hour
I place all Heaven with its power.
And the Sun with all it’s brightness,
And the Snow with all its whiteness,
And fire with all the strength it hath,
And the lightening with its rapid wrath
And the winds with their swiftness along their path
And the sea with its deepness
And the rocks with their steepness
And the Earth with its starkness
All these I place,
By God’s almighty help and grace,
Between myself and the powers of Darkness.

With thanks to Madeline L’engle

“A Swiftly Tilting Planet”

Originally posted 2015-07-28 18:05:26. Republished by Blog Post Promoter

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

User Login


Upcoming Holidays & Events

  • Mon, Apr 19
    • Sigrblot
  • Thu, Apr 22
    • Lyrids Meteor Shower
  • Fri, Apr 23
    • Sigurd`s Day
  • Fri, Apr 30
    • Walburg
  • Sat, May 1
    • May Day
    • Beltane ~ Greater Sabbat, Cross-Quarter Day, Fire Festival
    • Beltane ~ Greater Sabbat, Cross-Quarter Day, Fire Festival
  • Wed, May 5
    • Cinco de Mayo
  • Thu, May 6
    • Eta Aquarids Meteor Shower
  • Sun, May 9
    • Mother's Day
    • Guthroth`s Day, May 9
  • Wed, May 12
    • End of Willow Celtic tree month
  • Thu, May 13
    • Start of Hawthorn Celtic tree month
  • Mon, May 17
    • Tax Day
  • Wed, May 26
    • Einherjar Day USA
  • Thu, May 27
    • Frigga Blot

Subscribe to the Journal

Enter your email address to subscribe to Erin's Journal and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Current Moon Phase


Waxing Crescent Moon
Waxing Crescent Moon

The moon is currently in Gemini
The moon is 5 days old
Joe's